Home Blog The Inspiration behind our logo

The Inspriation behind our Logo

Blog, Main, Literature | 7 Aug 2021 |

Life on Earth is powered by the Sun. The Sun is the closest star to Planet Earth. The Sun’s life-giving rays take just 8 minutes to reach us. Shremaya is 8 letters to symbolise the time the Sun’s rays take to touch earth.

Shremaya is the fusion of two names.  It means “Perfect Illusion”. Shreya in Sanskrit means ‘reality, perfection’. Maya means ‘the power by which the universe becomes manifest; the illusion or appearance of the phenomenal world’. It also means ‘magical, illusion’.  

Shremaya symbolises ‘female’ strength through love and forgiveness for all that it encompasses. It is the very essence of humanity for it to endure through time and this is only possible through inclusiveness respecting all cultures, all nations, all people.

The logo Illustration illustrates earth in black (the Foundation’s name) supporting the sun arising and shining brightly across the land, symbolising our deep respect for the Earth.  The sun is the source of energy and life.  

At times, the Foundation will use the above logo, symbolising the sun cross, solar cross or wheel cross.  This solar symbol consists of an equilateral cross inside a circle.  The design is frequently found in the symbolism of prehistoric cultures, particularly during the Neolithic to Bronze Age periods of European prehistory.

The sun cross has been modified to depict two ‘S’s [Shakthi & Shiva – the Male & Female genders of the divine soul that lies within us], superimposed on a ‘cross’. The cross symbolises human suffering. The circle is a universal symbol with extensive meaning. It represents the notions of totality, wholeness, original perfection, the Self, the infinite, eternity, timelessness, all cyclic movement, God ('God is a circle whose centre is everywhere and whose circumference is nowhere’.

The 4 dots symbolise the 4 principles of Hinduism – kama [love/desire], artha [purpose in life], dharma [truth] and moksha [liberation].

The 4 dots also symbolise the 4 truths of Buddhism – [truth of] suffering, [truth of] cause of suffering, [the truth of] the end of suffering, [the truth of] the path to the end of suffering. In essence one removes themselves from pain and suffering through detachment.

The colours chosen are yellow and orange.

Yellow is the most luminous of all the colours of the spectrum. It's the colour of happiness, and optimism, of enlightenment and creativity, sunshine and spring.

Orange is associated with meanings of joy, warmth, heat, sunshine, enthusiasm, creativity, success, encouragement, change, determination, health, stimulation, happiness, fun, enjoyment, balance, sexuality, freedom, expression, and fascination.

Black is symbolic of mystery, power, elegance, and sophistication.

© Copyright 2022 Shremaya Foundation | Websites with MOBLE